A “Magical” Idea For My Valentine

Magic has always been a subject in my relationships with women in my life. Be it a past girlfriend or most importantly- now-  my wife, my passion has always been topic of discussion and an “easy out” on what to get me as a gift, etc.  With this in mind, I’ve decided to make something for my wife this Valentine’s Day (Shhhhh…don’t tell her..I have to keep it a secret for 10 more days!) that encompasses my passion…something with a lot of thought, and something she will like.  With the help of Pinterest.com, I was able to find the perfect gift idea. Its called a “52 Reasons I Love You Deck.” A simple search on Pinterest will pull up countless possibilities and similar projects. I thought I would detail my steps and hopefully inspire many of you that want to add a little magic to your Valentines Day.

Supplies you will need:

  • Deck of Cards: I chose the Bicycle “Series 1800” Deck to keep with the vintage feel of the overall project.
  • Adhesive Rhinestones
  • Decorative items for scrapbooking
  • Leather string or book rings
  • A single hole punch
  • Scissors
  • High- grit sandpaper
  • Glues stick: I used the Elmer’s Extreme Glue Stick as its designed to adhere to fabric, wood, paper, etc.
  • A good imagination

First thing is first, you’ll want to make a template of 52 different reasons why you love your wife, girlfriend, etc. This took a while to come of with some reasons that only apply to my wife. I tried to come up with certain things like inside jokes and even some mushy things for my wife. Remember: we are creating some magic here.

0204131654

0204131431

I had Staples print my #52 reasons on a vintage card stock.

0204131540

Each card had to have a hole punched to thread the leather string or book ring in to keep the card banded together  (like a book).

0204131539

Next, each card had to be sanded. I used a 600 grit automotive high-grit sandpaper to help remove the protective coating on the card so the glue would stick better.  Otherwise, its like gluing paper to wax paper.  Be sure to only sand where you plan to glue each of your reasons.

0204131700

0204131652

All of the “reasons” were cut out and glued to the cards and the leather or book rings are added… these were a couple of the “funny” reasons I wrote.

0204131501

0204131651

The front and back pages get a little extra flare! I added the rhinestones and decorative corners…

As you can see, I couldn’t wait to decorate the front page before I did the leather!

0204131649

The finished deck…

0212131637

I decided to make a little jewelry box as well! Originally, it was to hold the “52 Reasons Deck;” however, I didn’t take into consideration the amount of space the canvas lining would take up so it just accompanied it.

0212131634

Each hole will get epoxy and a gem stone after sanding and staining…

0212131810The stones are on and the box is ready for its polyurethane coating…

0216130719

All finished mounting the hinges and lock hasp!

0216130719a

Here’s the finished box and deck!

Happy Valentines Day everyone and good luck on your projects!

Leave a Reply

